Say Whaaat? A Communication with Plants

I wish I knew how a translator’s mind works. I am sure practicing has a lot to do with the ease of deciphering one language from another, then repeating it in a different tongue. It took me awhile to figure out what was going on when another voice popped into my thoughts. As a child, it was considered an active imagination but there was something so real about the sensation. Sesame Street was (is) real, there were adults interacting with Muppets. It makes sense that all things want to be heard, they have something to say. Why couldn’t other things have a voice? The plant kingdom is alive by many scientific properties, right? Communication can happen in several unique ways, right?

A few years ago I was gardening, on our non-manicured property. While trimming a 40+ year old holly bush, I thought to myself, “Wonder if the plant minds? Wonder how long it hurts for when it’s cut?”.  As effortlessly as I enquired, a voice came back to me, “Don’t mind, just don’t rip and tear.” Well, duh, that makes sense, “Sure” I thought in response cause it seemed fair enough. I will pay more attention to how I prune and cut, “agreed”, I agreed.

Say Whaaat! Wait a minute… what just happened?

Yep, I started to freak out a little. Anyone watching me would not realize the immediate concern because it simply would have looked like I put down my clippers and stood up to take a break and admire my pruning work. I remembered turning 21 in college and finding great relief from my psych 101 notes about mental illness. I did hear a voice, that was not my own. It was the voice of the holly bush. I am not a child anymore and it’s not my imagination. The holly plant communicated with me! I had translated what it wanted to convey to me per the mental question I asked.

Now I go around letting people know not to rip and tear the plants when cutting or pruning, just snip clean through. Sometimes I tell them how I know this information (what I just shared with you) and other times I mention it’s what I learned when I was working for the local nursery. Either way, I hope the plant kingdom continues it’s open communication, we just need to be still and listen.

3 thoughts on “Say Whaaat? A Communication with Plants

  1. I am really glad you wrote this! I have very much come to believe that plants have input (esp given the potato experiment) so I am thankful that you put this post out there. And more that anything, I love that you listened to them. 🙂

  2. Why thank you moment for all of the love! I make a strong attempt to be kind to things that do have a postal address and those that do not. Listening is a part of communication which is very important for survival and joy 🙂 I am happy that you believe in the awareness of plants too.

    I will read up on the versatile Blogger Award, thank you again. Blushing that you think I’m amazing 😉

Leave a Reply

