Listen to the trees, for they have a lot to say.

New Englander’s can’t help but marvel at the trees that fill our landscape. This part of the country is known for it’s amazing foliage come the fall season. Trees are the primary producers in ecosystems which serve so many functions in this world. Next time you need some advice or plan on meditating, go outside and listen to a tree, for they have a lot to say.

Become still near a tree; hush your mind and relax. Focus your awareness on the tree, touch it with your physical hand and make your other senses available to envelop it’s majesty. Introduce yourself, as you would another living thing, and extend common courtesy, like a flattering complement. Ask a question that only a tree would have vast wisdom about, remember they are always observing. Settle into a meditative state and have a conversation with the tree. Don’t forget to give thanks when it is time to part as you would a dear friend. You will most likely be walking in greater awareness for the rest of the day because you have a new confidant on the earth.

If you can believe that everything is energy based (objects contain a specific amount of life force) and that all matter has some type of conscience within… then you understand that everything we come across throughout our day, is important for our well-being. Paying attention to one thing, no matter how big or small, allows other objects, situations, events, and life to become clearer in a way that makes perfect sense.

18 thoughts on “Listen to the trees, for they have a lot to say.

  1. Trees were one thing I missed living in San Antonio. The live oaks there are beautiful, to be sure, but I missed the leaves turning colors in the fall. We’ll be headed up to New England again in October to see the foliage and some of our children.

  2. Trees are so amazing. If only more humans would learn to stop and listen to them . . .

  3. Agreed. Years ago when I was in CA for a long vacation, I found myself missing the variety of leafy trees in the landscape.
    October is a good time to visit, lots of apple harvest festivals and cooler weather too!

  4. Your “. . .” holds a lot of wisdom.
    I am reading a book titled, Folklore as an Historical Science. There is a chapter written about human’s struggle with nature, animals and other humans (can’t find the quote). Seems to me that IF we all just took a little more time listening, there would be less devastation in the world.

  5. Thank you. I was going through some of my writings and actually said out loud, “Did I write this?”
    I think some of the literary creations are channeled messages, sometimes the author is aware and sometimes they are not. Either way, it’s important to share and I’m happy the sentiments touched you FeyGirl.

  6. Funny I should read this: earlier today I spread out on a picnic table to admire the oak canopy above me. It has been too many years since I have done that. The experience was relaxing and pleasant, though too short in duration. Then I read this. It encourages me to re-think the adventure next time.

  7. Thanks for the comment Fay! I think it’s always good to strike up a good relationship with the Oaks because they DO choose when to release an acorn you know, wink.

  8. This piece was very well said, hitting on the most important points (at least in my humble opinion)… I agree that many literary creations are channeled, partly or wholly. The nature spirits had something important to relay. 😉

  9. Giving the opportunity to let something speak is important for all beings and all kingdoms, agreed.

    What I find fascinating is the communication. The ability for things that don’t appear to have vocal cords to give voice to a concern at hand. I speak English and that is usually how I “hear” information and pass it along. I would assume that if someone was to speak Spanish, the words would come through in that tongue. There must be some telepathy going on for the translations to occur. I think the science fiction stories, shows and movies weren’t that far off 😉

  10. Most definitely. How it needs to be heard (in what language, form, etc.) — I believe it’s just another level of communication, one that perhaps we’re not quite as fluent in as other species.

    As often as I visit with the trees on our hikes, I’ve had similar experiences — and the LOVE. It’s simply overwhelming. There are honestly no words. It needs to be released on a more massive scale, to ensure their respect and protection.

  11. Yes, they are magnificent. I have an agreement with them where I don’t cut any down until the fall or wintertime when they are more dormant. We live on a heavily wooded lot and have had a lot of tree work done over the years.

  12. I love walking in the forest, especially in fall and winter. The play of the shadow on tree bark, a fallen tree – having the opportunity to feel the active decomposing changing the form of the tree, the leaves becoming the different instruments of a beautiful orchestral wind. I also collect pieces of tree bark to make meditative flower arrangements, and interesting tree branch arrangements for my home. Thank you for bringing up the wonder of trees.

  13. Nature is living art. I’m guessing by us using some of nature’s majesty and creating human art, the bond between us only strengthens.

    I have a fondness for branches. There have been many arrangements where I add tree branches to fill up a floral display. Speaking of display, I will be selling my wands at a craft fair and spent some time searching the ground for the perfect display. I’ll be using a branch (set in a pot, vertically) to hold magic wands for sale.

  14. Oh, that is a marvelous idea! I used to do flower arranging for a zen temple. Once I had white birch branches (very tall) arranged in a pot in my house for many years. I loved that tree very much. Sometimes I run my hands across the tree bark. It is amazing how many types of tree bark exist. You have a beautiful blog here.

Leave a Reply

