Things that Bring You Comfort, Metaphysically Speaking (part one)

IMG_8064

Since I believe that many things we can add to our lives in order to improve our life style, I would like to write about items and why (or how) they bring us comfort. I was talking to a friend about why I love my journal so much. It is simply because with it, I am myself. This is the only place where I fully and totally honest. With my diary, I am my true self and feel safe being so. No judgement, no replies or suggestions, no correcting or interjections, no expectations… simply a place to share, dump and unwind. My own choice of words and grammar rules along with my own style of handwriting. Freedom to be who I am, expressing my day’s events and situations.

An object will take on the intended personality we assign to it. Usually the best lovin’ vibes start when you are gifted something. Any gift is usually a token of appreciation passed to another with love. My first journal was a gift from an adult friend. She must have been in her early late 20’s and I was nearing 18. This empty paged book carried with it an intention of bringing comfort or joy to me during my struggles with early adulthood. A wish was cast with hopes of helping me sort things out. Add to the excitement of gratitude and proper care… voila, a magical X has now appeared. You now possess a special item ready go on a journey with you as a source of remembrance and assistance.

Leave a Reply

